Friends’ Faves

"Soul Surfer is a true story of a pro surfer that  lost her arm, when she was attacked by a shark.  She shares how she had the faith to get back on the board again.  This autobiography, written by Bethany Hamilton, is one of my favorites, because it feels like I am actually there.  I suggest you read Soul Surfer if you like true, faith-filled stories."

"Do you like sad books?  If you do,Colby Rodowsky's  The Turnabout Shop would be a good book for you.  You may even be able to relate to Livvy who loses her mother and ends up staying with her mother's friend.  They have nothing in common, and Livvy can't accept the fact that Jessie Barns is her "mother."  Read to find out if she ever finds happiness again."

"Great Moments in Basketball History, by Matt Christopher, is a great book for sports lovers.  I like it because it has a lot of my favorite players.  Read to find out how Michael Jordan went up for a right hand dunk, switched hands in midflight, and made a left handed layup.  Or read how Wilt Chamberlin scored 100 points in one game (no video, only a tape recording).  If you like exciting moments in basketball, then this book is the one for you." 

3 thoughts on “Friends’ Faves

  1. lazer girl

    I can’t wait to read Soul Surfer! I just can’t wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Musketeer

    Soul Surfer is a great book, even though I’m only on page 69. I can tell that Bethany had lots of spunk when she was a girl; she’d go ding-dong ditching, raiding the boys with shaving cream, and playing turkey football, which is where you toss around an uncooked butterball!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *